Masta Ace to receive deluxe re-release treatment

Masta Ace's vision for SlaughaHouse will soon be expanded into a two CD set via Delicious Vinyl. The first disc features the classic album in its entirety with a second disc featuring remixes, instrumentals, acapellas and other rarities.

After making his name as a member in Marley Marl's legendary Juice Crew, the battle-scarred Brooklyn underground star returned for his second album with a newly tweaked name and his own supporting crew, Masta Ace Incorporated, a new sound and sharply honed style, and a cynical new outlook on the entire rap game.

In fact, a disgusted new outlook might be a more appropriate characterization, as a controlled abhorrence oozes from every pore of "SlaughtaHouse", lashing out not only at easy outside targets (bigoted police, for instance) but also at those shady characters inside the "SlaughtaHouse" whose violence is enacted physically (Ace himself places the part of a mugger on "Who U Jackin?") rather than lyrically, bringing the entire community down in the process.

A loose concept album, it is at once an intense expose and a roughneck paean to the Hip Hop lifestyle that broke new ground by merging the grimy lyrical sensibility, scalpel-precise technique, and kitchen-sink beats of East Coast rap with the funk-dripping, anchor-thick low-end of West Coast producers.

The deluxe edition of Masta Ace's SlaughtaHouse will be available December 11th, and the official tracklisting can be found below.


1. A Walk Thru The Valley
2. SlaughtaHouse
3. Late Model Sedan
4. Jeep Ass Ni***
5. The Big East
6. Jack B. Nimble
7. Boom Bashin'
8. Mad Wunz
9. Style Wars
10. Who You Jackin'?
11. Rollin' Wit Umdada
12. Ain't U Da Masta
13. Crazy Drunken Style
14. Don't F-ck Around (Outro)
15. Saturday Nite Live


1. Jeep Ass Ni*** (Dusted Mix)
2. Jeep Ass Ni*** (Bizcapella)
3. Jeep Ass Ni*** (Bonus Beats)
4. Jeep Ass Ni*** (O.G. Subwoofer Mix)
5. Jeep Ass Ni*** (Aaron LaCrate & Debonair Samir Mix)
6. Jeep Ass Ni*** (Aaron LaCrate & Debonair Samir Instrumental Mix Instrumental)
7. Saturday Nite Live (Instrumental)
8. Saturday Nite Live (L.A. Jay Remix)
9. Saturday Nite Live (L.A. Jay Remix Instrumental)
10. Saturday Nite Live (L.A. Jay Remix Acapella)
11. Saturday Nite Live (Horny Mix)
12. Saturday Nite Live (Horny Mix Instrumental)
13. SlaughtaHouse (Murder Mix)
14. SlaughtaHouse (Death Mix)
15. Style Wars (Remix)
16. Style Wars (Remix Instrumental)

blog comments powered by Disqus
Gods Profile

Masta Ace
Legendary influential emcee from Brooklyn, New York, original member of the Juice Crew.